June 5, 2019

SaskPower announced the details of a scholarship


June 5, 2019

For immediate release

SaskPower funding scholarship for Sun West Distance Learning Centre Powering Engineering students

(Rosetown) Today in Rosetown, SaskPower announced the details of a scholarship it is providing to students that are part of the Sun West Distance Learning Centre (DLC) Power Engineering Program. The DLC is Saskatchewan’s largest online school and is operated by the Sun West School Division.

Power Engineering is postsecondary level course offered online by the DLC and available to students across Saskatchewan. Power engineers are certified professionals who are essential in keeping power plants running in hospitals, pulp mills, oil upgraders, manufacturing plants and countless other operations.

The total value of the scholarship is $5500.00, which will be divided evenly among the seven second year students in the program. The students will use the funds to help pay for fees that are part of the power engineering certification requirements.

Learn more about DLC Power Engineering program.

In making the announcement, Kevin Guillemin, the Director of the Boundary Dam Power Station explained: “Power Engineering is a critical role at SaskPower. Supporting student education in this field has been a high priority and will continue to be a priority for the future. The 4th class Power Engineering Program developed at Sun West Distance Learning Centre aligns with SaskPower’s goal to support pathways for students into Power Engineering training within local communities. SaskPower is looking forward to the future with new opportunities for Power Engineers and encourages others to explore this field.”

In her remarks, Sun West Board of Education Chair Karen Itterman stated: “We are very pleased that SaskPower is supporting our students and our Power Engineering program. This is a unique program that allows students to receive training in high school so that they can be job ready shortly after graduation.”

The students who will receive funds through the scholarship will be: Sam Toth (Eston), Dixon Hrycak (Kindersley), John Robson (Rosetown), Theoron de Connick-Smith (Rosetown), Tyler Englot (Rosetown), Ivan Cueto (Biggar) and Brandan Horn (Rosetown) (see attached picture).

For more information contact:

Mike Fedyk, Sun West Distance Learning Centre
306-252-1000 (office)
613-407-2986 (cell)


Left to right: Karen Itterman, Chair of the Sun West School Division Board of Education; Jim Noseworthy, Power Engineering instructor with the Sun West Distance Learning Centre; John Robson (Rosetown); Sam Toth (Eston); Ivan Cueto (Biggar); Tyler Englot (Rosetown); Brandan Horn (Rosetown); Theoron de Connick-Smith (Rosetown); and Kevin Guillemin, Director of the Boundary Day Power Station. Missing: Dixon Hrycak (Kindersley).